The delete function in Cabinet is very similar to the delete function in Windows. Users who have the right to delete documents in Cabinet, can delete unwanted documents at a click of a button. Once a document is deleted, it disappears from Cabinet's filing system and is no longer searchable. This means that users will no longer have access to the deleted document.
In reality the document would be soft deleted (inaccessible for users but still residing within Cabinet) and is only accessible via the deleted items panel. Only administrators have access to such a panel and are allowed to see what documents were deleted and by whom.
Administrators can set-up a delete retention policy as to when the soft deleted documents will be physically deleted from the server. Before the delete retention policy expires, an administrator has the right to restore any soft deleted documents. Various clients have set-up this rule to adhere to their legal obligation for retaining documents.
This feature is helping our clients to minimise the problem of losing valuable data as well as having to manage ongoing retention of documents. Some clients used this feature to restore an employees' folder which was purposely deleted prior to leaving the company. This feature also came in handy when folders or files were deleted by mistake.